Like many foreshores along the Helford, Porth Sawsen received a battering by high winds and heavy seas overnight. The boat compound was badly damaged, though most of the fleet remains in one piece. Anyone able to volunteer help to restore order would be gratefully received. Contact Mike on 07939 711328
Helford River Children’s Sailing Trust was founded by John Green who holidayed and lived at Calamansac for many years. John passed away on 4 May 2014 leaving a wonderful legacy of thousands of children and adults who love the waters of the Helford River as John did as a child.
Born in London into a family of architects, John moved to Burnham Overy, north Norfolk, in 1939. He left school early, and after working on a farm in Shropshire and undertaking a Nuffield farming scholarship in 1949, he moved to a farming company in Lincolnshire. In 1964 he married Margaret and gained two much-loved stepsons. Two years later, the family moved to Ely, where John and his brother Andrew formed a farming partnership. The business still flourishes and now incorporates substantial operations in central Europe.
In 1995, he and Margaret moved to the Helford River and the woods and gardens of Calamansac. He had visited Calamansac as a child and then, after marrying Margaret, every summer was spent holidaying on the river.
Inspired by his own experiences as a child and their unique location on the shores of the Helford, he established the Helford River Children’s Sailing Trust, a charitable trust for local schoolchildren to learn to sail single-handedly and enjoy the resulting freedom and confidence. For this he was made MBE and his extraordinary enthusiasm and energy continue to be an inspiration.